"First home to the Hammonascit Native-American people and later established as a plantation for English settlers in 1663, Clinton, Connecticut boasts a rich and remarkable history. Yale University’s first classes were conducted here. None other than Benjamin Franklin, Colonial Postmaster General, personally determined the site of a Boston Post Road milestone on current Main Street. Hundreds of trading ships were built and launched from Clinton’s shipyards and the Ponds Extract Company (now part of Unilever) set up shop in town to harvest, process, and bottle witch hazel. For generations, vacationers, artists, and year-round residents have found pleasure and a deep community spirit at our shore." -Clinton Historical Society Website
"In 1667, the original settlement was named Kenilworth by Hartford officials, probably at the request of Edward Griswold, the town’s first delegate to the Hartford General Court. Griswold had been born at Kenilworth in Warwickshire, England. Local dialect and irregular spelling soon altered Kenilworth into “Killingworth”. In 1838 the northern portion of the town separated from the original coastal community, taking with it the name Killingworth. The southern section chose 'Clinton' as its new name, honoring the nationally popular New York politician, Dewitt Clinton." - Clinton Historical Society Website
In 1913, one Sturges Redfield deeded 9½ acres of land, bounded at the south by Long Island Sound, in the Beach Park section of Clinton to Beach Park Improvement Association. In the deed, he “expressly reserve[d] to himself the right to gather seaweed.” On September 13, 1920 Beach Park Improvement Association, by its Treasurer, Sturges Redfield, conveyed the same 9½ acres to Raymond B. Jacobs of Hartford. The deal was financed by Clinton National Bank with a mortgage, of the same date, of $9,223.
Subdivision approval was not required in Clinton until 1964, and there were no Zoning requirements until 1965, so Mr. Jacobs simply declared a subdivision and had a map drawn up upon which he divided the 69 lots of what he called "Beach Park Point," along with East Walk, West Walk, and the three service roads. The map was undated, but recorded some time between late 1923 and early 1924, as Map No. 15 (the fifteenth map ever to be recorded in Clinton). The first of the residential lots was sold at the end of 1923, and by the end of 1924 at least a dozen lots were sold.
In 1949, by a Special Act of the Connecticut General Assembly, Beach Park Point Association was incorporated, as a quasi-municipal entity, with the power to levy taxes and fines upon the owners of these 69 lots, and other property it acquired.
And acquire property it did. The Association acquired approximately 3.7 acres on Hammock Road across from the northwesterly portion of the subdivision, and now became the Northern boundary of the Association. This lot was used as a recreation area and baseball field.
In 1953, a summer camp was started at Beach Park Point, under the leadership of Sidney Schulman (a long time President of the Association). The camp continues on today, with many residents having been campers, and then counselors, and now sending their children to camp.
The lot on Hammock Road (at the northern extremity of Beach Park Point) now contains a large swimming pool, a pool house, 3 tennis courts, a basketball court, a playground, and a large parking area. The installation of the pool was not without controversy, in its day, but it was approved, to the great benefit of all of the property owners and their property values. Of course the southern boundary of the Association always was and still continues to be the great, private, sandy beach on Long Island Sound, shared by the entire Beach Park Point Association community.
Approximately 60 residences now stand in Beach Park Point (some of them on two lots). The community is vibrant, strong, a desirable place to spend leisure time, and a premier resort community on the Connecticut shoreline.
Copyright © 2018 Beach Park Point Association - All Rights Reserved.